• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Dook

Dook

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 25 September 2014 - 02:36 PM

More specifically log package suppliers.

I have built 4 stick framed homes for my own use over the last fourty years, so I'm not a complete newbie about engaging in this kind of business.

Back in 2005 I wanted to build a log home and I negotiated with a local log home contractor who has built homes for 3 of my neighbors. He is a small operator who pretty much flies by the seat of his pants and builds on site. His methods are not the best, but the neighbors are not enemies with him after their builds. He mostly does handcrafted chink style homes with round saddle notch corners and light timber frame roof systems that to my knowledge never exceed R19 (In 2005, there were no closed cell spray foam applicators servicing this region). He wanted to use 1x6 t&g on 4 foot spans across 4x8 timbers and 2 foot wide sections of metal roof panels. Needless to say I wasn't overjoyed about his roof system. He does not do purlin type roofs, no sawmill I guess. Although he does put in a ridge purlin, it is not milled or sawn, the 4x8's simply set on top of them.  Anyway, if my memory serves me right, he offered to dry in a 32x32 home with half loft for 84K, him doing the foundation, floor and roof, no plumbing, no electrical, no interior walls no finishes no windows, no doors. I was going to accept his bid all except for one problem....he wanted 50% up front.